Can’t understand

I sometimes hear about the horrible things some people seem capable of inflicting upon each other. After the initial reactions of anger, shock, disgust or outrage. I usually ask how this is possible. How can a human being do that to another person?

I just can’t understand how their minds work.

I’m glad I can’t, I’m happy my mind cannot process the horror and justify it in any way.

Instead I feel for the victims and try to understand what they went through.
Unlikely the healthiest of thought exercises but a habit I find myself in every time the news shocks me.

I try to understand the victim because I will never understand the culprit.

One thought on “Can’t understand

Leave a Reply

